Press

Just released! The 2016 Preferred Fiber and Materials Industry Benchmark Report shows companies are setting ambitious targets for uptake of more sustainable raw materials. 

View Press Release Here

Lamesa, Texas [March 27, 2017] 71 Companies have stepped up to the mark and put themselves forward for benchmarking against their peers and competitors in the Textile Exchange Preferred Fiber & Materials (PFM) Benchmark Program, linking their efforts to the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

61% of companies have set targets for switching to a more sustainable source of cotton, three quarters having a specific target for organic. Liesl Truscott, Materials Strategy Director for Textile Exchange said:

“Millions of people – cotton farmers, foresters, and other textile feedstock providers – form the base of the textile supply network and are impacted by the decisions brands and retailers make every day. Influencing improvement in fiber and material production is one of the greatest opportunities textile brands and retailers can contribute to securing a sustainable future. “

“Preferred” is another way of saying “more sustainable.” Textile Exchange defines a “preferred” fiber or material (PFM) as one that is ecologically and socially progressive and has been selected because it has more sustainable properties in comparison to conventional options.
“The mix of fibers in your product range can be just as important as the sustainability profile of each fiber,” Truscott added. “It’s great to have a forward-thinking cotton program, but if most of your range is synthetic you should be concentrating on recycled choices. Our benchmarking will point companies towards that.”

Textile Exchange recommends a “portfolio approach,” building a suite of preferred fiber and materials from a choice of preferred options, through the consideration of impacts and product range priorities. The goal is that PFMs are produced to a globally accepted standard, with strict criteria that qualifies the product as preferred, and can be traced through the supply chain.

Nanda Bergstein, Head of Vendor Relations & Sustainability (Non Food) for Tchibo, said “Our goal of a 100% sustainable business model challenges us to think about completely new, innovative models of doing business. One of them is our partnership with the Appachi ECO-LOGIC Cotton Project in India which brings together a value chain from the farmers to the customers. The key is the partnership and working together – and we see this as pivotal for the entire industry.

This is why we are proud to support the Preferred Fiber and Materials Benchmark. It is not only a tool to benchmark our individual progress as a company within the index community, it also creates motivation for the industry to increase the conversion from conventional into sustainable materials and products.”

71 companies (up from 57 last year), ranging from adidas to Woolworths, completed a bespoke online survey and have received confidential Company Feedback Reports revealing their individual results. An Industry Report – containing the combined results of all participating companies – is to be released this week.

CONTACT: Donna Worley
Director of Marketing Communications and Public Relations
+1.806.577.0652 (U.S. Central)
Donna@TextileExchange.org

View Press Release Here

Lubbock, TX [March 16, 2017] The Global Organic Textile Standard, Organic Trade Association, and Textile Exchange are coordinating a free webinar to provide the industry with guidance on labeling textiles that contain organic material for sale in the United States. Any company with product sold in the United States or that is planning to begin sales in the U.S. is invited to attend the webinar.

In this free webinar, learn more about U.S. regulations for organic textile labeling, different kinds of organic claims, and how the Organic Content Standard (OCS) and Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) can be used to help support labeling organic textiles.

Government regulation on the labeling of organic textiles falls under the Federal Trade Commission’s truth in advertising guidelines and the definition of organic as presented in the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Organic Program. However, there remains confusion about labeling language and how brands can provide verification of compliance.

The Organic Trade Association’s Vice President of Regulatory & Technical Affairs, Gwendolyn Wyard will explain the U.S. regulations for organic labeling with a focus on textiles. Lori Wyman, the GOTS North American Representative, will speak about GOTS and the claims allowed for GOTS certified organic products. Textile Exchange’s Ashley Gill, Integrity Specialist, will cover the OCS and raw material content claims.

The webinar will take place two times on Tuesday, April 11, to allow attendees from Europe, Asia, and North America to take part:
• 10 a.m. Eastern, 3 p.m. GMT, p.m. CET, and 10 p.m. China
• 12 Noon Pacific, 2 p.m. Central, and 3 p.m. Eastern

While the webinar is intended to provide some guidance, attendees should not interpret any information presented as legal advice, or as representative of the FTC or USDA.

Click here to register for the Europe webinar, offered at 3 p.m. GMT, 4 p.m. CET, and 10 p.m. China:

Click here to register for the North American webinar, offered at 12 Noon Pacific, 2 p.m. Central, and 3 p.m. Eastern

CONTACT: Donna Worley
Director of Marketing Communications and Public Relations
+1.806.577.0652 (U.S. Central)
Donna@TextileExchange.org

Share this Post