Textile News

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO)- Screening Protocol for Cotton & Textiles

June 17 @ 8:00 am - 9:00 am UTC-7

Monday, June 17 | 8am PST/ 11am EST/4pm GMT | 1 hour

Register Here!

Textile Exchange, in partnership with the Organic Cotton Accelerator (OCA), is pleased to present this webinar as part of our continued focus on improving integrity focuses on the recently delivered international reference protocol for GMO-screening in cotton and textiles. The ability to make credible claims about the presence of genetically-modified cotton in (organically certified) textiles and garments has long been an issue of contention. In early 2018, with the financial support of C&A Foundation, OCA facilitated the development of a globally accepted and objective protocol for laboratories to screen cotton and processed cotton fibre (textiles) for the potential presence of known GMOs.

The GMO-screening protocol, approved and published by the ISO in April 2019, provides precise guidelines to laboratories on how to test for GMO presence in cotton and processed cotton fibre in a reliable and replicable way. The possibility to isolate good quality DNA from samples derived from the different cotton production and processing steps (e.g. seed, leaf, fibre, yarn, fabric and garment) was assessed to inform and optimize the protocol.

Results show that while good quality DNA can be isolated from cottonseed up to greige yarn and fabric, it was not possible to isolate amplifiable DNA in processed yarn and fabric. Processed yarn, fabric and garment are therefore excluded from the protocol. Participants to this webinar include OCA who will lead the discussion by detailing the highlights of the protocol, with Textile Exchange and GOTS sharing potential future practical use.

Hear from:
Bart Vollard | Organic Cotton Accelerator (OCA)

Rahul Bhajekar | Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)

Joy Saunders | Iconoclast

Ashley Gill | Textile Exchange

Details

Date:
June 17
Time:
8:00 am - 9:00 am
Event Category:
Website:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2229255826279557387
Change Language »