Leading Organizations Partner to Offer Organic Textile Labeling Webinar

View Press Release Here

Lubbock, TX [March 16, 2017] The Global Organic Textile Standard, Organic Trade Association, and Textile Exchange are coordinating a free webinar to provide the industry with guidance on labeling textiles that contain organic material for sale in the United States. Any company with product sold in the United States or that is planning to begin sales in the U.S. is invited to attend the webinar.

In this free webinar, learn more about U.S. regulations for organic textile labeling, different kinds of organic claims, and how the Organic Content Standard (OCS) and Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) can be used to help support labeling organic textiles.

Government regulation on the labeling of organic textiles falls under the Federal Trade Commission’s truth in advertising guidelines and the definition of organic as presented in the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Organic Program. However, there remains confusion about labeling language and how brands can provide verification of compliance.

The Organic Trade Association’s Vice President of Regulatory & Technical Affairs, Gwendolyn Wyard will explain the U.S. regulations for organic labeling with a focus on textiles. Lori Wyman, the GOTS North American Representative, will speak about GOTS and the claims allowed for GOTS certified organic products. Textile Exchange’s Ashley Gill, Integrity Specialist, will cover the OCS and raw material content claims.

The webinar will take place two times on Tuesday, April 11, to allow attendees from Europe, Asia, and North America to take part:
• 10 a.m. Eastern, 3 p.m. GMT, p.m. CET, and 10 p.m. China
• 12 Noon Pacific, 2 p.m. Central, and 3 p.m. Eastern

While the webinar is intended to provide some guidance, attendees should not interpret any information presented as legal advice, or as representative of the FTC or USDA.

Click here to register for the Europe webinar, offered at 3 p.m. GMT, 4 p.m. CET, and 10 p.m. China:

Click here to register for the North American webinar, offered at 12 Noon Pacific, 2 p.m. Central, and 3 p.m. Eastern

CONTACT: Donna Worley
Director of Marketing Communications and Public Relations
+1.806.577.0652 (U.S. Central)
Donna@TextileExchange.org